Meet the members of the VPH Institute

From its incorporation less than one year ago, the Institute has gained the interest of a considerable number of worldwide institutions that applied for the Institute membership: we currently have 58 member institutions, of which nine are supporting members.

The statute defines that only institutions can become members of the VPH Institute, with two kinds of membership: general member, and supporting member.

General members are the vast majority.  They have the right to appoint a representative to the General Assembly, which is the sovereign governance body of the institute.  The General Assembly elects every year the members of the Board of Directors among the supporting membership, and the members of the Board of Trustee among the general membership. General members are constantly informed of all initiatives and opportunities related to the VPH, and have the possibility to give their contribute to the creation of strategic documents, proposals for policies, recommendations for standards and protocols, etc.

The current members are:

  • Academic Medical Center (AMC), Department of Biomedical Engineering and Physics, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • ASD Advanced Simulation & Design GmbH
  • Barcelona Digital Technology Centre (Bdigital) Health R&D&I
  • Catalan Agency for Health Information, Assessment and Quality (CAHIAQ)
  • Center for Integrative Biomedical Computing (CIBC), University of Utah
  • Central University Marta Abreu of Las Villas, Cuba (UCLV). Department of Mathematics. Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science
  • Centre for Computer Graphics & Visualisation, University of Bedforshire
  • Centre for Mathematical Medicine & Biology, University of Nottingham
  • Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
  • CIBER-BBN (Biomedical Research Networking center in Bioengineering, Biomaterials and Nanomedicine)
  • CNR National Research Council of Italy - IAC Institute for Computing Application
  • Computational Science, Faculty of Science, University of Amsterdam
  • DePuy CMW
  • Dipartimento di lngegneria dell'lnformazione (Department of lnformation Engineering) / Università Politecnica delle Marche - Ancona Italy, Bioengineering Department
  • empirica Gesellshaft fur Kommunikations und Technologieforschung mbH
  • Erasmus MC Rotterdam, The Netherlands, Department of Radiology and Medical Informatics, Biomedical Imaging Group Rotterdam (BIGR)
  • European Medical Association (EMA)
  • Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH), Institute of Computer Science (ICS), Computational Medicine Laboratory (CML)
  • Ifsttar — Institut Francais des Sciences et Technologies des Transports, de l'Amènagement et des Rèseaux, LBMC UMR_T 9406 — Laboratoire de Biomècanique eet Mècanique des Chocs (Ifsttar UCBL)
  • Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC)
  • Institute for Human Performance and Rehabilitation (PerfoTech)
  • Institute for Surgical Technology and Biomechanics, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Institute of Communication and Computer Systems National Technical University of Athens (ICCS-NTUA)
  • Istituto Auxologico Italiano
  • Kings College London, Biomedical Engineering Department, Division of Imaging Sciences and Biomedical Engineering
  • Laboratory of Engineering of Neuromuscular System and Motor Rehabilitation - COREP
  • Mario Negri Institute, Biomedical Engineering Department
  • Mechanical Engineering, Rehabilitation and Medical Devices (RAMD), Escola Politecnica Superior D' Enginyeria De Manresa (EPSEM)
  • Noema Life Spa
  • Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Dept of Mathematical Sciences and Technology, Centre for Integrative Genetics (CIGENE)
  • Saarland University, Faculty of Medicine, Department of Paedriatic Oncology and Heamatology
  • SuperComputingSolutions (SCS) srl
  • Section Medical Genomics, Department of Clinical Genetics, VU University Medical Centre, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Technological Educational Institute of Lamia (TEILAM), Dept Informatics and Computer Technology
  • U.S. National Library Of Medicine
  • Università Degli Studi di Genova, Dipertimento di Informatica, Sistemistica e Telematica (DIST)
  • Università degli Studi di Milano - Dipartimento di Informatica
  • Università degli Studi di Pavia - Dipartimento di Matematica - Laboratorio di Elettrocardiologia Computazionale
  • Università degli Studi di Roma Tre - Dipartimento di Elettronica Applicata
  • Università degli Studi Guglielmo Marconi, Facoltà di Scienze e Tecnologie Applicate,Software Engineering Laboratory
  • University of Bologna - Department of Electronics, Computer Science and Systems - Cellular and Molecular Engineering Lab - Computational Cardiovascular Physiopathology Unit
  • University of Verona, Department of Informatics, Robotics Labs "Altair"
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB), Department of Experimental Anatomy (EXAM), Brussels - Belgium
  • VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland 

The second type of membership the institute established is the so calledSupporting Membership. 

Supporting members are general members that for that year contribute in a substantial way to the financial viability of the institute business plan. This financial commitment somehow marks the general commitment to the institute and to the VPH initiative at large, and thus it is reasonable to ask these institutions to express the candidates for the Board of Directors.  This body will govern the Institute for the following year.  Thus, supporting members have the possibility to drive the institute policy, setting the agendas, proposing specific actions, approving the annual business plan, and associate the brand of their own institutions to the visibility of the VPH institute as a whole.  In their role of policy makers they will frequently have access to drafts and preliminary version of key documents before their official publication, which will give them a competitive advantage from a strategic point of view. They will be at the center of wide network of European and international public and private institutions, and this will make easier the formation of consortia, the development of international mobility programs, and the participation in clinical and industrial programs.

The institutions that currently form our supporting membership are very prestigious at international level. Here there is the full list:  

  • University of Sheffield
  • Istituto Ortopedico Rizzoli
  • KU Leuven
  • Ospedale Pediatrico Bambino Gesù
  • Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Università di Roma "Foro Italico"
  • Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • University of Auckland

Date: 20/05/2013 | Tag: | News: 14 of 1589
All news


More news


More events

Subscribe to the VPH Institute Newsletter


Read all the newsletters of the VPH Institute